Delinquent

It’s been one of those weeks. Daytrip to a place 3 hours away on Monday (so 6h of solo driving), events every night except Friday, oh, and a family birthday this weekend. (Or, rather, birthdays, being as it’s the twins’.)

I felt bad about missing a seminar today, until realizing that I’d already been to one seminar each on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday of this week. And I was wondering why my to-do-now list was looking a bit long…

Next week looks calmer on the calendar. It’s the calm before the storm, as the following week is back to back-to-back-to-back evening commitments plus exams to write and then grade.

We read As We May Think by Vannevar Bush for BenNMFSf11 this week. I led the discussion, starting off with a bit of a biography of the man. In reading the essay, I imagined this Bush to be somewhat of a futurist — it reminded me of things I’d read in a senior elective in high school, a class on Futurism taught by the late, great Bernie Hollister. I think I was way off base, though — Bush was a scientist turned administrator, and was a key figure in WWII and the development of the Manhattan Project (and what was to eventually become the National Science Foundation). In doing web research to find out more, I saw how often he was credited with the ideas that became the world wide web, though as I was reading it, I was thinking about how the iPad (really iPads) I’ve been carrying around for the past 15 months are really a portable form of the memex he designed, at least in many of the ways I use it.

I’m intrigued by the idea that gathering all of the information makes it accessible. I can’t remember where I saw it (perhaps in my Twitter feed? Or another blog?), but there are more papers being published nowadays in nearly every field than one person can possibly read in a lifetime. Even given databases and citation webs… it’s so hard to stay on top of it all now. How do we manage the volume of information that’s now available to us?

OK, I need to move on through the to-do list. Next week’s readings are on there somewhere, as are catching up on reading all the other blogs…

Leave a Reply

